Discover the stars of tomorrow

You are here : Homepage > News > 2022 FIFA World Cup - Final : Scaloni, Pezzella, Gomez and Argentina world champions

19 December 2022

2022 FIFA World Cup - Final : Scaloni, Pezzella, Gomez and Argentina world champions

The 2022 FIFA World Cup ended on Sunday. Argentina was crowned champion after a legendary final against France.

On top of the world, 36 years later. Argentina won the 2022 World Cup on Sunday against France (3-3 a.p., 4-2 tab) and regained this title for the first time since 1986. It was a great moment for Argentina to win the World Cup for the third time in its history, and to erase the bad memories of 2014 and the final lost to Germany.

Three former participants in the Maurice Revello Tournament are among the new champions: defender German Pezzella and attacking midfielder Papu Gomez, both of whom played in the 2009 edition of the Tournament, and coach Lionel Scaloni. The former midfielder played in the 1998 Tournament as a player and won it against France in the final, alongside one of his current assistants, Walter Samuel.

Hugo Lloris (2006 Tournament), Steve Mandanda (2005 Tournament), Axel Disasi (2018 Tournament), Adrien Rabiot (2014 Tournament) and coach Didier Deschamps (1988 Tournament) all saw their dreams of a historic World Cup double dashed. But they can be proud of their achievements and in particular of having taken part in one of the greatest games in the history of football.

The two teams went through all the emotions on Sunday and gave us an anthological final. Argentina dominated for 70 minutes and even went into the break with a two-goal advantage. But Les Bleus turned the game thanks to Kylian Mbappé, who scored twice in the space of two minutes (80', 81'). The match was then decided by a penalty shoot-out, with the two teams each having a chance to score in extra time. The penalty shoot-out then turned in favour of the Albiceleste after two French misses.


The number of saves made by Hugo Lloris during the match.


The number of interceptions made by Adrien Rabiot during the match, the highest total for France.


Argentina had not won the World Cup for 36 years. Its last title was in 1986. Only Italy had to wait longer (44 years) before winning another World Cup.


Two of the three penalty shoot-outs in the history of World Cup finals have seen France lose (2006, 2022).


France did not attempt a single shot in the first half, a statistic unheard of for a team in a World Cup final.


29 March 2023

Ait-Nouri, Johnston, Gunn… The Maurice Revello Tournament graduates burst onto the international scene

3 February 2023

Ronaldo, Cunha, Buonanotte...the Maurice Revello Tournament graduates animate the winter transfer window !

2 February 2023

Colombian starlets Gustavo Puerta and Daniel Luna land in Europe !

19 January 2023

35 players from the 2022 Maurice Revello Tournament will feature in the Sudamericano U20

31 December 2022

40 Maurice Revello Tournament graduates became senior internationals in 2022

29 December 2022

INTERVIEW - Javier Mascherano : « The important is the way that you take »

19 December 2022

2022 FIFA World Cup - Final : Scaloni, Pezzella, Gomez and Argentina world champions

15 December 2022

2022 FIFA World Cup - quarter and semi-finals : how did the Tournament almunis perform ?

8 December 2022

2022 FIFA World Cup : 11 Maurice Revello Tournament former referees

7 December 2022

2022 FIFA World Cup - Round of 16 : how did the Tournament almunis perform ?

Our partners

      Conseil Départemental des Bouches du Rhône CD13        Muy Manero