Découvrez les stars de demain

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Actualités > 2022 FIFA World Cup - Final : Scaloni, Pezzella, Gomez and Argentina world champions

19 décembre 2022

2022 FIFA World Cup - Final : Scaloni, Pezzella, Gomez and Argentina world champions

The 2022 FIFA World Cup ended on Sunday. Argentina was crowned champion after a legendary final against France.

On top of the world, 36 years later. Argentina won the 2022 World Cup on Sunday against France (3-3 a.p., 4-2 tab) and regained this title for the first time since 1986. It was a great moment for Argentina to win the World Cup for the third time in its history, and to erase the bad memories of 2014 and the final lost to Germany.

Three former participants in the Maurice Revello Tournament are among the new champions: defender German Pezzella and attacking midfielder Papu Gomez, both of whom played in the 2009 edition of the Tournament, and coach Lionel Scaloni. The former midfielder played in the 1998 Tournament as a player and won it against France in the final, alongside one of his current assistants, Walter Samuel.

Hugo Lloris (2006 Tournament), Steve Mandanda (2005 Tournament), Axel Disasi (2018 Tournament), Adrien Rabiot (2014 Tournament) and coach Didier Deschamps (1988 Tournament) all saw their dreams of a historic World Cup double dashed. But they can be proud of their achievements and in particular of having taken part in one of the greatest games in the history of football.

The two teams went through all the emotions on Sunday and gave us an anthological final. Argentina dominated for 70 minutes and even went into the break with a two-goal advantage. But Les Bleus turned the game thanks to Kylian Mbappé, who scored twice in the space of two minutes (80', 81'). The match was then decided by a penalty shoot-out, with the two teams each having a chance to score in extra time. The penalty shoot-out then turned in favour of the Albiceleste after two French misses.


The number of saves made by Hugo Lloris during the match.


The number of interceptions made by Adrien Rabiot during the match, the highest total for France.


Argentina had not won the World Cup for 36 years. Its last title was in 1986. Only Italy had to wait longer (44 years) before winning another World Cup.


Two of the three penalty shoot-outs in the history of World Cup finals have seen France lose (2006, 2022).


France did not attempt a single shot in the first half, a statistic unheard of for a team in a World Cup final.

Le fil d'infos

20 mars 2023

Tournoi Maurice Revello et Sud Ladies Cup : une soirée partenaires réussie

3 février 2023

Ronaldo, Cunha, Buonanotte...les anciens du Tournoi Maurice Revello ont animé le mercato hivernal !

2 février 2023

Les pépites colombiennes Gustavo Puerta et Daniel Luna débarquent en Europe !

19 janvier 2023

35 joueurs passés par le Tournoi Maurice Revello 2022 vont disputer le Sudamericano U20

11 janvier 2023

Cinq joueurs passés par le Tournoi à suivre en 2023

31 décembre 2022

40 joueurs passés par le Tournoi Maurice Revello sont devenus internationaux A en 2022

29 décembre 2022

INTERVIEW - Javier Mascherano : « L'important, c'est le chemin que l'on prend »

19 décembre 2022

Coupe du Monde 2022 – Finale : Scaloni, Pezzella, Gomez et l’Argentine champions du monde

15 décembre 2022

Coupe du Monde 2022 – quart et demi-finales : le baromètre des anciens du Tournoi

8 décembre 2022

Coupe du Monde 2022 : 11 arbitres passés par le Tournoi Maurice Revello

Nos partenaires

      Conseil Départemental des Bouches du Rhône CD13        Muy Manero