Découvrez les stars de demain

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Actualités > Maurice Revello Tournament top 100 players : 20th to 16th

18 mars 2024

Maurice Revello Tournament top 100 players : 20th to 16th

On the occasion of its 50th edition, which will take place from 3 to 16 June 2024, the Maurice Revello Tournament is opening its history book. Since it was founded in 1967, the competition has seen many talented players. More than 2,000 have gone on to become senior internationals, and some of them have written football history. To celebrate its anniversary, the Tournament is updating its top 100, created in 2017. Until 29 March, our website will be displaying the updated rankings of the 100 greatest players to have taken part in the Tournament. And it continues today, with the rankings from 20th to 16th place.

20th : Alan Shearer (England) - 1991

After winning the Maurice Revello Tournament for the first time in its history in 1990, England reclaimed the title the following year. And they did it with panache. After defeating Senegal (2-1), Mexico (6-0), the USSR (2-1) and finally France in the final (1-0), the Young Three Lions won all 4 of their matches to claim the title once again. In this team, 3 players went on to become senior internationals: David James, Steve McManaman and Alan Shearer. The latter was one of the main architects of England's success. The competition's top scorer, he also won the trophy for best player of the edition. Then at Southampton, the striker headed for Blackburn the following year. But it was at Newcastle that he made his mark on the history of the club and the Premier League. Scoring a total of 283 goals, he is currently the all-time top scorer in the English Premier League, as well as Newcastle's all-time top scorer with 206 goals. A three-time winner of the Player of the Year award, he is also a member of the English Football Hall of Fame.

19th : Fabien Barthez (France) - 1991

Beaten in the final by Alan Shearer's England, France fell at the final hurdle of the 1991 Tournament. After defeating the United States (3-1) and Poland (2-0), they lost out to a confident England side who retained the title they had won in 1990. Made up of 4 future senior internationals, the French team relied in particular on 2 immensely talented players: Zinédine Zidane and Fabien Barthez. The goalkeeper moved to Toulouse FC, where he made his professional debut. But his career took another turn in 1992, when he joined Olympique de Marseille, with whom he won the Champions League in 1993. He then moved on to Monaco and Manchester United, where he won the French (1997 and 2000) and English (2001 and 2003) league titles. With Les Bleus, he won 83 caps, the 1998 World Cup and Euro 2000. Along with England goalkeeper Peter Shilton, he is the record holder for the number of clean-sheets in a World Cup (10 in total).

18th : Didier Deschamps (France) - 1988

Three years before Fabien Barthez, another illustrious French senior international took part in the Tournament. In 1988, Didier Deschamps won the Tournament with the French team. As in 1991, Les Bleuets faced England in the final, but this time the outcome was different, as they beat Paul Gascoigne in particular (4-2), all after a perfect run: 4 matches, 4 wins, 15 goals scored. The first trophy in a long list won by "DD". Then at FC Nantes, the midfielder drew further comparisons with Barthez when he too signed for Olympique de Marseille a year after the Tournament. There, he won 2 French league titles and, above all, the Champions League in 1993. This was followed by a 5-season spell at Juventus, where he won 9 titles, including 3 Scudetti and another Champions League in 1996. Finally, like... Barthez, Deschamps was also part of Les Bleus' 1998 World Cup-Euro 2000 double as captain. With 103 caps, he is currently the 9th most capped player in the history of the French national team, which he has been coaching since 2012.

17th : Juan Roman Riquelme (Argentina) - 1998

23 years after the first title won by Daniel Passarella and César Luis Menotti's Argentina in the 1975 Tournament, the Albiceleste finally got back to winning ways. The Albiceleste beat France in the final (2-0) and won the 1998 edition with a team bursting with talent. Coached by José Pekerman, it included 10 future senior internationals, including Walter Samuel, Lionel Scaloni, Gabriel Milito and... Juan Roman Riquelme. The elegant playmaker was already at Boca Juniors, where he would become a veritable legend over the course of his career. Winner of 3 Copa Libertadores titles, 5 Argentine championships and an Intercontinental Cup in 2000, the No10 made his mark with the Buenos Aires club. While his European adventures with Barcelona and Villarreal were mixed, Riquelme shone for his country. Capped 51 times, he was Olympic champion in Beijing in 2008.

16e : David Beckham (Angleterre) - Tournois 1995 & 1996

Third in 1995, then eighth in 1996... England's appearances in the Maurice Revello Tournament during these 2 years did not go down in the history books of a nation that won the competition 7 times. But they did reveal a player who would leave his mark on the national team and football in general. David Beckham took part in the 2 editions, already wearing the number 7 on his back. The midfielder was not yet the football and fashion icon he would become, but his looks and ball skills were already setting him apart. His talent first took him to Manchester United, where he went down in the club's history books, winning 13 trophies in ten seasons. His spells at Real Madrid, Los Angeles Galaxy, AC Milan and PSG also brought him another 10 titles. Runner-up in the Ballon d'Or in 1999, he is also the third most capped player in the history of the Three Lions, with 115 caps.

Le fil d'infos

23 mai 2024

Les nations titrées au Tournoi Maurice Revello : La Côte D'Ivoire (9/12)

20 mai 2024

La liste de l'Ukraine pour le Tournoi Maurice Revello 2024

20 mai 2024

La liste de la France pour le Tournoi Maurice Revello 2024

19 mai 2024

Tournoi Maurice Revello 2024 : informations et accréditations

17 mai 2024

Le Tournoi Maurice Revello, la Sud Ladies Cup et StadiumGO : l'aventure continue pour une troisième année de suite !

16 mai 2024

Le Tournoi Maurice Revello comme tremplin pour le Mexique

13 mai 2024

Les nations titrées au Tournoi Maurice Revello : Le Chili (8/12)

12 mai 2024

La liste du Mexique pour le Tournoi Maurice Revello 2024

6 mai 2024

César Luis Menotti s'est éteint

24 avril 2024

Les nations titrées au Tournoi Maurice Revello : Le Mexique (7/12)

Nos partenaires